{ "id": 15, "name": "The Spellsnatcher", "name_anchor": "the-spellsnatcher", "uri": "https://mtgtreachery.net/rules/oracle/?card=the-spellsnatcher", "cost": "", "cmc": 0, "color": "blue", "type": "Identity — Guardian", "types": { "supertype": "Identity", "subtype": "Guardian" }, "rarity": "R", "text": "Undercover|Unveil {4}|When The Spellsnatcher is unveiled, counter target spell. If that spell is countered this way, exile it instead of putting it into its owner’s graveyard. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost for as long as it remains exiled.", "flavor": "", "artist": "bpsola (Bryan Marvin P. Sola) @ DeviantArt", "rulings": [ "You can target a spell you control with The Spellsnatcher’s unveiling triggered ability. This will give you the ability to cast the card later without paying its mana cost.", "If you cast a spell \"without paying its mana cost,\" you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs those must be paid to cast the spell.", "If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost." ] }